NLNG Prize Shortlists 11 Nigerian Plays

Jul 21, 2023

The Nigeria Prize for Literature is a price sponsored by Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG). The prize is $100,000 and the winner is expected to be announced in October. Each year, the prize rotates between Poetry, Fiction, Drama and Children's Literature.

This year, it is drama's turn and we have the following 11 plays on the shortlist:

  • Dance of The Sacred Feet by Ade Adeniji

  • Gidan Juju by Victor S. Dugga

  • Grit by Obari Gomba

  • HomeComing by Cheta Igbokwe (You can read more about it here)

  • The Boat People by Christopher Anyokwu

  • The Brigadiers of a Mad Tribe by Abuchi Modilim

  • The Ojuelegba Crossroads by Abideen Abolaji Ojomu

  • The Spellbinder by Bode Sowande

  • When Big Masquerades Dance Naked by Olubunmi Familoni

  • Where Is Patient Zero by Olatunbosun Taofeek

  • Yamtarawala – The Warrior King by Henry Akubuiro

The list was presented to the Advisory Board by the Chairman, Panel of Judges for this year’s prize, Professor Ameh Dennis Akoh, a Professor of Drama and Critical Theory at the Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ebonyi State. Other panel members include Professor Osita Catherine Ezenwanebe and Dr Rasheedah Liman.